12-31-2008 - With around 400 participants, of 53 nationalities and counting 40% of young researchers, the conference has been the occasion for fruitful debates among the relevant stakeholders, giving raise to propositions of common actions based on the priority lines proposed in the European Partnership for researchers . The reflexions on the implementation of a status that would assure researchers of a real social recognition and a satisfactory standard of living progressed thanks to these discussions. The results have been presented during the Competitiveness Council of December 2, 2008 when addressing the Partnership.


Presentation

The French Presidency of the European Union is organising the “Young Researchers in Europe” conference, to be held in Rennes on November 20th and 21st, 2008.

Setting up a “partnership” 1 for a more open and attractive European Area for Research will be discussed at the conference. The objective is to further research careers and increase mobility of researchers, particularly the young.

Today, only 3% of European researchers have worked in a European Union country other than their own, for more than a short period. Encouraging the circulation of researchers and knowledge involves overcoming current obstacles by:

  • opening more international recruitments,
  • meeting the needs of mobile researchers, notably as regards social coverage,
  • establishing equitable employment and working conditions,
  • ensuring ongoing training adapted to the skills of researchers.

 

The conference will be an opportunity for all European partners to meet, exchange views and ideas, compare good practices and produce innovative proposals, leading to concrete initiatives as regards mobility of researchers and circulation of knowledge.


 

1 This European partnership is an initiative put forward by the Commission, in May 2008

 

 
© YRE 2008 - mise jour : 06/03/2009

31-12-2008 - Rassemblant environ 400 participants, de 53 nationalités et dont 40% de jeunes chercheurs, la conférence a permis des échanges fructueux entre les acteurs concernés, faisant émerger des propositions d’actions communes sur la base des lignes prioritaires proposées dans le « Partenariat européen pour les chercheurs ». Ces travaux ont fait progresser les réflexions sur la mise en place d’un statut qui assurera aux chercheurs une réelle reconnaissance sociale et un niveau de vie satisfaisant. Les résultats ont été présentés lors du Conseil européen réuni en formation Compétitivité le 2 décembre 2008 à l’occasion des échanges sur le Partenariat.


Présentation

La Présidence française de l’Union européenne organisera, à Rennes, les 20 et 21 novembre 2008, la conférence « Jeunes chercheurs en Europe ».

Cette conférence permettra d’engager une réflexion sur la mise en place d’un « partenariat » 1 pour un espace européen de recherche plus ouvert et plus attractif, destiné à favoriser les carrières et la mobilité des chercheurs, notamment des plus jeunes.

Aujourd’hui, seuls 3% des chercheurs européens ont effectivement travaillé dans un autre pays de l'Union européenne au-delà de missions de courte durée. Après avoir clairement identifié les principaux freins, il est à présent nécessaire d’encourager la circulation des chercheurs et de la connaissance :

  • en ouvrant davantage les recrutements à l’international
  • en répondant aux besoins des chercheurs mobiles en matière notamment de sécurité sociale et de retraite,
  • en créant des conditions d’emploi et de travail équitables,
  • en veillant à l’adéquation des formations et des compétences des chercheurs.

 

Cette conférence  sera l’occasion pour les différents partenaires européens de se rencontrer, d’échanger afin de confronter les bonnes pratiques et de faire émerger des propositions novatrices, et d’aboutir à des pistes d’actions concrètes en termes de mobilité des chercheurs et de circulation de la connaissance.


 

1 Ce partenariat européen est une initiative proposée par la commission en mai 2008

 

 
© YRE 2008 - mise à jour : 06/03/2009